Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » EGit / JGit » Beginner Problems
Beginner Problems [message #1808718] Sun, 30 June 2019 02:06 Go to next message
Reinhardt Christiansen is currently offline Reinhardt ChristiansenFriend
Although I am familiar with the concept of version control and like it, I have not been in an environment where I needed to use it in many years so I am trying to get up-to-date with it. Since I've been an Eclipse user for a long time and Git/GitHub is clearly a very popular version control system, I'd like to get familiar with accessing GitHub from Eclipse. I have done some tutorials on basic Git and GitHub operations using the GitHub web interface and the Git command line but I am just beginning to try to access GitHub via Eclipse, specifically 2019-03.

I'm very confused by the documentation and I hope you will forgive me asking some very basic questions.

1. The Help system in Eclipse refers to two different Gits, EGit and JGit. Am I correct in understanding that JGit is for Java projects and EGit is for other projects? I have a mix of different projects, both Java and web projects, and I'm not sure which of these Gits to use for web projects, consisting of HTML, CSS, and PHP but not Java. I'd like to use the right Git for each type of project.