Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Language IDEs » Java Development Tools (JDT) » Is it possible to change standard Java Editor with a plug-in
Is it possible to change standard Java Editor with a plug-in [message #1796285] Tue, 09 October 2018 14:54 Go to next message
Yurii Polianytsia is currently offline Yurii PolianytsiaFriend
Recently I've understand that for my happy Java-codding life I need some improvements for content assist. So I'm trying to figure out how can I replace Content Assist tool tip popup in standard Java Editor with custom window.
I'm completely new to eclipse plugin development so I have a few questions.
Is it possible to do with plug-in without creating custom editor? I can't find valid extension point for this task am I missed something?
Re: Is it possible to change standard Java Editor with a plug-in [message #1796462 is a reply to message #1796285] Sat, 13 October 2018 19:30 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Stephan Herrmann is currently offline Stephan HerrmannFriend
Are you looking for http://help.eclipse.org/2018-09/topic/org.eclipse.jdt.doc.isv/reference/extension-points/org_eclipse_jdt_ui_javaCompletionProposalComputer.html?cp=3_1_1_27 ?
Re: Is it possible to change standard Java Editor with a plug-in [message #1796464 is a reply to message #1796462] Sat, 13 October 2018 19:46 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Yurii Polianytsia is currently offline Yurii PolianytsiaFriend
Stephan Herrmann wrote on Sat, 13 October 2018 19:30
Are you looking for http://help.eclipse.org/2018-09/topic/org.eclipse.jdt.doc.isv/reference/extension-points/org_eclipse_jdt_ui_javaCompletionProposalComputer.html?cp=3_1_1_27 ?

I thought CompletionProposalComputer only allows to add new content to the existing content assist window. My idea is to make more advanced completion proposal window with 2 or 3 proposal lists depending on execution content.