Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Newcomers » Newcomers » eGit - where's staged and status options?(Basic eGit operations)
eGit - where's staged and status options? [message #1790095] Mon, 04 June 2018 20:10 Go to next message
Jim Lakis is currently offline Jim LakisFriend
Hello,

Self taught junior level developer here that has only used Eclipse Oxygen for about 2 years now and would like to start using eGit too. I have only read about Git in general.

In my Eclipse installation, eGit is installed according to my Marketplace. I've used the drop down menu on a project to create the repository (outside of my eclipse workspace directory) and have sought to Commit a file.

A window associated presumable with Git opens in the IDE that allows for comments on the commit along with other options when attempting to commit a file from the drop down menu. When a brief message is added and the Commit button is selected, a warning message appears stating that the file had not been staged yet.

The question is, (1) I've not seen the option to stage a file during the use of the drop down menu earlier or in the opened window, so what needs to be done?

Also, (2) how does one check the status of a repository?

Grateful,

Eclipse for JavaScript and Web Developers
Version: Oxygen.3a Release (4.7.3a)
Build id: 20180405-1200
Windows 7 64 bit

[Updated on: Mon, 04 June 2018 20:15]

Report message to a moderator

Re: eGit - can one check the repository's status? [message #1790096 is a reply to message #1790095] Mon, 04 June 2018 20:22 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Nitin Dahyabhai is currently offline Nitin DahyabhaiFriend

You might find the learning materials linked at https://wiki.eclipse.org/WTP_Git_Migration_Home#Learning_Materials , especially the eGit User Guide, to be helpful.

You're looking to Team->Add one or more files before you can commit their modifications.