Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Newcomers » Newcomers » How do I recover from Drag-&-Drop?(I did a Windows 7 Drag-&-Drop Workspace. Now I cannot access project)
How do I recover from Drag-&-Drop? [message #1786870] Mon, 14 May 2018 14:43 Go to next message
Mark Oliver is currently offline Mark OliverFriend
Eclipse IDE for Java Developers, Version: Oxygen.3a Release (4.7.3a), Build id: 20180405-1200

I have little experience with Eclipse and am currently learning about Workspace and Import.
My workspace folder was in the wrong place and I cannot find a Move Workspace command, although there is a Move Project command. So, I used Windows 7 Drag-and-Drop to move it. Drag-and-Drop from one hard drive to another is a copy. Drag-and-Drop on the same hard drive is a move. I used Drag-and-Drop on the same hard drive. I immediately knew there was a problem because I was left with two Workspaces, both the original Workspace and a new Workspace. The new Workspace works fine(?). I can find the project, programs and code. I would like to create a Workspace for future use. I went into Eclipse and created this new Workspace with the intention of importing my project into the future Workspace. This does not work. The Import command cannot find the project to import. It seems that the Import command cannot find an index or find the location of the project in the index. I have gotten the message "Not in sync". I have done Refresh, Restart Eclipse, Close&Open Eclipse, Restart Windows 7, ShutDown&Bootup Windows 7.

Does anyone know a solution to this problem?

References:
Eclipse workspace: Here
https://help.eclipse.org/mars/index.jsp?topic=%2Forg.eclipse.platform.doc.isv%2Fguide%2FresInt_workspace.htm
https://help.eclipse.org/mars/index.jsp?topic=%2Forg.eclipse.platform.doc.isv%2Fguide%2FresInt_workspace.htm

Drag and drop or copy and paste