Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Newcomers » Newcomers » 3d Shape Class(How to write a class for a 3d cube.)
3d Shape Class [message #1768257] Sun, 16 July 2017 04:38 Go to next message
Paul Rethier is currently offline Paul RethierFriend
Hi my name is Paul and not only am I new to Java, I am also new to programming all out. So I am sorry if I'm asking a very elementary question.
I am trying to figure out how to write a class for a 3d cube. I can not figure out how and where you're suppose to write the code for the vertices and nodes. This is what I have written and it's completely wrong so far.

package shapes;
public class CubeMain extends Object {
//Fields
private int nodes;
private int edges;
//Constructors
public CubeMain() {
int nodes = x,y,z,w,h,d;
nodes = x,y,z,
x,y,z+d,
x,y+h,z,
x, y+h, z+d,
x+w, y, z,
x+w, y, z+d,
x+w, y+h, z,
x+w, y+h, z+d;
}
//Methods
}
Re: 3d Shape Class [message #1768262 is a reply to message #1768257] Sun, 16 July 2017 07:59 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Ed Merks is currently offline Ed MerksFriend
This is not an appropriate forum for this type of question. This is a basic question about how to program in Java but this forum is for asking questions about how to use Eclipse. Even when I think of other forums such as StackOverflow and JavaRanch I imagine people answering questions there will expect you to learn at least some basics of Java so you can ask a question that isn't of the form, Can you teach me Java.

Ed Merks
Professional Support: https://www.macromodeling.com/
Re: 3d Shape Class [message #1768280 is a reply to message #1768262] Sun, 16 July 2017 19:20 Go to previous message
Jeff Evarts is currently offline Jeff EvartsFriend
Paul,

As you are new to programming, it's very easy to understand your mistake, so let me try and explain what's going on.