Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Newcomers » Newcomers » Installation problems(Installing eclipse/java for all users on a Linux (Mint) box)
Installation problems [message #1768248] Sat, 15 July 2017 16:03 Go to next message
Jeff Evarts is currently offline Jeff EvartsFriend
Hello!

There doesn't seem to be an installation problems forum, but since I'm a new member of the community, and the first thing you're supposed to do is install the product, I figured this is an ok place to post. My name is Jeff Evarts and while I've been programming professionally since the early 80s, it's been more C/C++ and a little assembly language than Java. I'm totally new to eclipse/java development, so I'm likely to ask odd questions and get the vocabulary all wrong. My apologies in advance.

I first posted about this issue] over on a LWJGL forum, and they were helpful, but this has really devolved to an eclipse-specific problem, so I'm moving the conversation over here.

The steps so far:

1) Install Linux Mint 18.1/Serena (I have also tried all of these steps on Ubuntu 16.04, with identical results)
2) Use Linux installer to install the latest eclipse package (Eclipse + Eclipse-jdt 3.8.1-8)

Someone in another forum pointed out that this was a very very old version of eclipse, and that the latest version was Oxygen. I googled "install eclipse oxygen", which took me to downloads/packages/release/Oxygen/M7. I downloaded the linux/64 link, which is not the ACTUAL install package, it's something else. Unfortunately the README file didn't say what it was or how to get the REAL version.

One of the users at the LWJGL forums pointed me back to another location which appears to be the main download page. Thence I downloaded another gzipped tarball.

I unpacked the tarball and found an "install" executable. This installed things in two directories: $HOME/eclipse and $HOME/.p2.