Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » Eclipse Platform » adding a new VM to installed JRE workbench
adding a new VM to installed JRE workbench [message #1767803] Tue, 11 July 2017 09:12 Go to next message
sameer singh is currently offline sameer singhFriend
I am a beginner and i am working on eclipse . I started to modify some component. I am trying to add a new path option in installed JRE under preferences through the code without the wizard, but in order to do that i am not able to understand which class to follow so that i could actually go ahead.
So can anyone please guide me.
Re: adding a new VM to installed JRE workbench [message #1767984 is a reply to message #1767803] Wed, 12 July 2017 14:15 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Brian de Alwis is currently offline Brian de AlwisFriend

It would help to know what you are trying to accomplish. But the list of known JVMs is managed by the JDT/Debug component in org.eclipse.jdt.launching. The key class is org.eclipse.jdt.launching.JavaRuntime, interfaces are IVMInstall.

The IDE is itself a great example to learn from. Within the IDE, use Alt-Shift-F1 to invoke the PDE Plugin Spy find out the what implements the view or editor or dialog that you're currently examining, and start poking through the code. Take a look at the Preferences > Java > Installed JREs preference page, for example, to see what it does to list and add to the list of known JREs.

Brian.

Eclipse Platform committer. Ask me about Eclipse support, training, and consulting.
Re: adding a new VM to installed JRE workbench [message #1768066 is a reply to message #1767984] Thu, 13 July 2017 11:23 Go to previous messageGo to next message