Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Modeling » Papyrus » Papyrus suitable for education/exam?(Non-stand diagram icons - or are they?)
Papyrus suitable for education/exam? [message #1759122] Thu, 06 April 2017 07:39 Go to next message
Jean Kalowski is currently offline Jean KalowskiFriend
Hello,
I'm a student and have used Papyrus a couple of months ago during study, and I'm soon beginning preparation for an exam.

I have now upgraded to the current version and noticed small things like the actor-icon in a use-case diagram not being the standard stickman anymore (which I clearly remember from last year) but some kind of grey silhouette - where my tutor firmly insists that it is not standard and unsuitable for submission in an exam.

I'm was wondering if I'm doing something wrong, but was unable to find any way of configuring this other than replacing it with a selfmade css styling.

Custumizing wouldn't be an issue per se (other than the extra time), but I'm a bit unsure if there are more deviations from the standard in other diagram types that might not be well suited for studying.

I'm glad there's such great free software like Papyrus - don't get me wrong, this question is merely about if I should rely on it for my exam ;)

Re: Papyrus suitable for education/exam? [message #1759151 is a reply to message #1759122] Fri, 07 April 2017 02:59 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Ri Fr is currently offline Ri FrFriend
Hello

1. Papyrus follows exactly the UML 2.5 standard, so it should be OK for an exam, but I strongly recommend you check with your teacher and / or the people who will do the grading. You can show them screenshots (google for images) to get examples. Papyrus 2.02 has some bugs / annoyances / quirky behaviour that can be a problem (see this interview here: http://modeling-languages.com/francis-bordeleau-on-papyrus-modeling-eclipse/)