Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Language IDEs » C / C++ IDE (CDT) » Problems with Eclipse Kepler(Code won't run, no error messages)
Problems with Eclipse Kepler [message #1754617] Tue, 21 February 2017 06:04 Go to next message
Travis Dodge is currently offline Travis DodgeFriend
I'm currently enrolled in a class where I am just beginning to learn how to code C/C++ so I downloaded Eclipse Kepler to use as my IDE. I have lots of trouble just trying to get it to run, but after several days of trying many solutions and getting it to accept my code without giving me an error on every line, now it simply won't run the code.

I am using the examples from my textbook and I've run the code in Visual Studio so I know the problem isn't with the code. I can get a puts() function to work and the output works fine. But if I add a scanf() funtion to accept user input, the console just goes blank but keeps running like it's trying to load something but nothing ever happens. I go into the Problems window and it doesn't show anything. Then if I comment out the scanf() function it continues to not load until after I close Eclipse and open it again.

I've looked this up and I can't seem to find anyone else with a similar problem. I'm very new to this IDE and this programming language so I have no clue what is going wrong or how to proceed.
Re: Problems with Eclipse Kepler [message #1754725 is a reply to message #1754617] Tue, 21 February 2017 19:33 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Marc-André Laperle is currently offline Marc-André LaperleFriend
Why compiler are you using? If it's MinGW on Windows, make sure you have your MinGW bin path. Also, there might be buffering going on, for some workarounds see https://bugs.eclipse.org/bugs/show_bug.cgi?id=173732#c38 and later comments.