Skip to main content


Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » Oomph » Disable dedicated update sites after installation
Disable dedicated update sites after installation [message #1745937] Wed, 19 October 2016 15:58 Go to next message
Andrey Loskutov is currently offline Andrey LoskutovFriend
Messages: 81
Registered: July 2009
Member
I'm trying to craft an offline installer package / product catalog which only uses local update sites to install stuff.

We want that at the "Preferences -> Install/Update -> Available Sites" only those (offline) update sites are enabled which we have used to create the installation, and nothing more.

However, by default we also get the "Neon" and "The Eclipse Project Updates" update sites enabled (http://download.eclipse.org/releases/neon, http://download.eclipse.org/releases/neon), see the attached picture. I guess those are coming from the 4.6 SDK we use as the base for the installation.

index.php/fa/27394/0/

We don't want to allow users easily mess up our installation by updating platform or something else we pre-installed via "check for updates", which by default uses all enabled update sites.

I see that the preferences recorder can't catch this settings, probably because it is something p2 special. So how can we disable unwanted enabled update sites (or remove them entirely)?
Re: Disable dedicated update sites after installation [message #1745940 is a reply to message #1745937] Wed, 19 October 2016 16:19 Go to previous message
Ed Merks is currently offline Ed MerksFriend
Messages: 31038
Registered: July 2009
Senior Member
P2 stores these things as preferences but in profile scope. You could install the preference's feature:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<setup.p2:P2Task
    xmi:version="2.0"
    xmlns:xmi="http://www.omg.org/XMI"
    xmlns:setup.p2="http://www.eclipse.org/oomph/setup/p2/1.0">
  <requirement
      name="org.eclipse.oomph.preferences.feature.group"/>
</setup.p2:P2Task>

And then use Window -> Preferences -> Oomph -> All Preferences -> Edit... to open the editor and inspect what's going on with the "profile" node where all this stuff is stored. Perhaps with some work on the preference tasks so they can be easily applied to the profile preferences the problem could be solved.
Previous Topic:How to enable a custom catalogue by default?
Next Topic:P2 mirror of archived update sites causes problems in Oomph setup
Goto Forum:
  


Current Time: Tue Apr 07 11:58:58 GMT 2020

Powered by FUDForum. Page generated in 0.01237 seconds
.:: Contact :: Home ::.

Powered by: FUDforum 3.0.2.
Copyright ©2001-2010 FUDforum Bulletin Board Software

Back to the top