Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Language IDEs » C / C++ IDE (CDT) » Trouble importing Atmel ASF project(Eclipse doesn't recognize ASF demo project files)
Trouble importing Atmel ASF project [message #1715316] Sat, 21 November 2015 22:07 Go to next message
Dallas Clement is currently offline Dallas ClementFriend
Hi All,

I am new to Eclipse and am trying to use in a Linux environment to develop for an Atmel SAM D21 Explained Pro development board. The Atmel Software Framework has a led toggle demo project which I am trying to import into Eclipse so that I can build and run. However, Eclipse does not seem to recognize the demo project gcc files which are:

config.mk
Makefile
asf.h

Can anyone offer me some clues on how I can get Eclipse to recognize these files and make a project?

I am running Eclipse for C/C++ Developers, Mars.1 Release 4.5.1

Thanks,

Dallas
Re: Trouble importing Atmel ASF project [message #1715490 is a reply to message #1715316] Tue, 24 November 2015 03:37 Go to previous messageGo to next message
David VavraFriend
What kind of project is this? Autotools?
What exactly are you doing?

I don't let Eclipse run config files. It sometimes doesn't think they need to be run during a build probably because Eclipse isn't aware of some of the dependencies.

Instead, I import the code into a CDT makefile project
File ==> Import ==> C/C++==> Existing Code as Makefile Project.
(If it's an autotools project you could use the Autotools Project instead)
then use the makefile by selecting targets with the Target View.
Window ==> Show View ==> Make ==> Make Target
although all and clean are already available under Project as Build Project and Clean ...

Since it's usually rare to execute the config.mk more than once or twice I do that manually in a command window.

Don't know offhand why you have a problem with asf.h. Perhaps you could show why you think it's unrecognized.