Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Modeling » TMF (Xtext) » Use of DSL's in Java Code by annotations?(DSL's and Java Code for a project (university) in software maintenance.)
Use of DSL's in Java Code by annotations? [message #1712719] Tue, 27 October 2015 16:38 Go to next message
Jahic Benjamin is currently offline Jahic BenjaminFriend
Hi to everyone,

I recently got a project to do for my studies, where I need to create some eclipse plugin.
My topic is "textual DSL's with graphical representations". I had the idea to create some DSL in order to support software maintenance. I'm pretty new in DSL's so I wanted to ask if it is possible to create a DSL and use it in Java code by annotations for example.

In order to create some sort of scheme of the code, which will show the critical parts of the code a user has implemented and annotated?
The user then simple annotates the code with the DSL and from that a Scheme will be generated, showing the inputs of the user?

You may have some better ideas to create such a plugin to support software maintenance with a textual DSL with graphical representation (Xtext and Sirius)?

I would be very happy for any advise or help on annotations?

Thank you in advance:)

Re: Use of DSL's in Java Code by annotations? [message #1712772 is a reply to message #1712719] Wed, 28 October 2015 08:07 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Stefan Oehme is currently offline Stefan OehmeFriend

Hi,

we will need some more context to give you any suggestion. What is the DSL supposed to do? Maybe some examples of the syntax that you would like to have?

Embedding a DSL in Java annotations is not possible. But you can go the other way around and have a DSL with Java-like expressions in it, using Xbase.

Cheers,
Stefan