Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Archived » Eclipse SmartHome » Eclipse SmartHome(Eclipse smarthome development)
Eclipse SmartHome [message #1712465] Sun, 25 October 2015 13:29 Go to next message
Michael Tetteh is currently offline Michael TettehFriend
I want to find out. I am new to the eclipse smarthome framework. I intend to use it for mu final year project. My question is how do I go about it after developing the bindings and is it compulsory to use the openHab. If so can you customise their front-end ui.
Re: Eclipse SmartHome [message #1712473 is a reply to message #1712465] Sun, 25 October 2015 17:04 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Kai Kreuzer is currently offline Kai KreuzerFriend
It very much depends on what you actually want to achieve. See https://www.eclipse.org/smarthome/getting-started.html.
Eclipse SmartHome is a framework, so you either have to build your own solution or you go with the existing open source solution openHAB 2 (or you take that as a starting point for your own solution, but be aware that you will have to open-source your code as well).

Regards,
Kai
Re: Eclipse SmartHome [message #1713018 is a reply to message #1712473] Thu, 29 October 2015 20:18 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michael Tetteh is currently offline Michael TettehFriend
I am building a device and I need to be able to control it. I intend to develop a binding for it. I also have a raspberry pi for the server or hub. The IDE is setup so how do i start developing by binding. And I saw designer ui. I dont actually know what that is for.
Re: Eclipse SmartHome [message #1713021 is a reply to message #1713018] Thu, 29 October 2015 21:13 Go to previous messageGo to next message
That sounds as if you are looking for a solution, so https://github.com/openhab/openhab2/blob/master/docs/sources/development/bindings.md might help you.