Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Modeling » Epsilon » How to generate ID for model element in GMF Editor generated by Eugenia  () 1 Vote
How to generate ID for model element in GMF Editor generated by Eugenia [message #1702638] Thu, 23 July 2015 16:40 Go to next message
Dung Le is currently offline Dung LeFriend
Hi,

I'm new to Epsilon, I have just created an GMF diagram editor using Eugenia (following the screencast). But after I draw and save the file, there is no id for the element in my new model.

I also modified the .gmfgen file: change the "Model ID" in the Gen Editor Generator to Ecore, but it still did not work.

How should I generate ID for the elements in my model in this case?

Re: How to generate ID for model element in GMF Editor generated by Eugenia [message #1702716 is a reply to message #1702638] Fri, 24 July 2015 09:33 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Antonio Garcia-Dominguez is currently offline Antonio Garcia-DominguezFriend

When you refer to "ID"s, are you referring to the xmi:id attributes that appear in the files for some modeling tools? To produce those, you need to use a subclass of XMLResourceImpl that overrides useUUIDs() to return true. Both XMLResourceImpl and XMIResourceImpl return false for that method. Ed Merks explains this in this EMF thread:

https://www.eclipse.org/forums/index.php/t/129116/

One option for having unique identifiers is to mark in your .ecore the fields with unique values from your own classes with ID=true: EMF will use these instead of automatically generated UUIDs. This could be done with a polishing transformation on the .ecore file:

https://www.eclipse.org/epsilon/doc/articles/eugenia-polishing/