Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Modeling » Epsilon » [ETL] Why do I get dynamicEObjects?(first time epsilon user so probably a newbie question, but...)
[ETL] Why do I get dynamicEObjects? [message #1386682] Thu, 19 June 2014 12:46 Go to next message
Hristofor Mirchev is currently offline Hristofor MirchevFriend
Hi guys,

I am looking for m2m transformation languages for a project I have and I am currently considering Epsilon as the option that best suites me. So naturally I started playing around with the examples from the site to get the hang of it. I started with the simplest Tree2Graph one. I manually downloaded the two .ecore files, the .etl file, the .model and the launch.xml, put them in a project edited the launch.xml to point to the .ecores correctly, I registered the .ecores and ran the transformation. It worked flawlessly.

My question came when I started playing around with the transformation rule. I inserted a simple "t.parent.print()" expecting to see an instance of "Tree" and was surprised that it was actually a dynamicEObject pointing to a "Tree". My question is why does this happen and can I get it to be a reference to "Tree" as for my project I'd need to do a simple manipulation over the original emf model entity.
Re: [ETL] Why do I get dynamicEObjects? [message #1386709 is a reply to message #1386682] Thu, 19 June 2014 17:09 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Dimitris Kolovos is currently offline Dimitris KolovosFriend

Hi Hristofor,

Since you've not generated Java code from Tree.ecore, the Epsilon EMF driver loads your model reflectively (i.e. as a bunch of DynamicEObjects) - which is the expected behaviour. I realise that this can be confusing so if you have any further questions please don't hesitate to ask.

Cheers,
Dimitris