Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Modeling » ATL » [ATL] Translate BPMN models into UML
[ATL] Translate BPMN models into UML [message #1324035] Wed, 30 April 2014 15:23
abdush mohd is currently offline abdush mohdFriend
Hi,

This is my first post! I am still new to the world of Eclipse Modeling, so please bear with me Smile

I am trying to generate UML state charts from BPMN 2 process models. I have created an ATL project and added the following metamodel files :

- BPMN20.ecore file from org.eclipse.bpmn2_0.7.0.201308220617.jar as the input metamodel. (I had to add the other BPMNDiagram, DC, DI ecore files also.)
- UML.ecore file from org.eclipse.uml2_4.1.0.v20130902-0826.jar as the output metamodel.

I created a sample process model using Eclipse BPMN project in MDT as the input model for the transformation. The generated file is always serialized as XML and not XMI, is there a way to export the model as XMI or there is no need for it? I have read that the BPMN ecore created in Eclipse is a merge of the two XSD and MOF metamodels specified by OMG, so does that mean that the same ATL transformation module can accept both input files (XML and XMI)?

The transformation file is really simple now, it has one rule to transform the root element of the input model to the root element of the output model. However, the output generated is an empty xmi file. I tried to debug the transformation and it seems that it always terminates and does not execute the rule.

The console output shows:
Metamodel contains several classifiers with same name: DocumentRoot
Metamodel contains several classifiers with same name: di::DocumentRoot

but I guess this is not the issue.
I have checked the input file and it looks fine, I don't know what's wrong.