Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Archived » Jubula » Component Name as Parameter(wanna use a case on different components)
Component Name as Parameter [message #1062738] Mon, 10 June 2013 14:55 Go to next message
Dominik Gabriel is currently offline Dominik GabrielFriend
hello,

i am trying to generate a test case that can be used on ever Text Component in our Program. i wanna write something in it save and check the content after saving.
is there any way to set the Component Name in a Test Step as a parameter.

i am new in jubula and noticed that it wont work if i enter f.e. =compName in Component Name Property

Best Regards Dominik
Re: Component Name as Parameter [message #1062822 is a reply to message #1062738] Mon, 10 June 2013 22:04 Go to previous messageGo to next message
David Hickernell is currently offline David HickernellFriend
If all you need to be able to do is use the same test case for multiple components, all you have to do is give the component a place-holder name in the test step, then replace it with an assigned component name in the "New Name" column of the Component Names view each time you reference your test case in another case or suite.

If you actually need the component name to come from a parameter (e.g. iterating through values from a data file), then I do not think that Jubula will allow that; it will give you an "Incomplete Object Mapping" error, and not let you run the test, unless all of the component names you use in your test specification ultimately resolve to ones that are assigned to technical names.

If there turns out to be some strange and secret workaround that does make this possible, I hope someone will correct me. Smile
Re: Component Name as Parameter [message #1062851 is a reply to message #1062822] Tue, 11 June 2013 06:09 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Dominik Gabriel is currently offline Dominik GabrielFriend