Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » EGit / JGit » Ignoring source columns 1-12 when comparing files?(trying to customize for use in IBM i environment)
icon5.gif  Ignoring source columns 1-12 when comparing files? [message #1019055] Fri, 15 March 2013 00:30 Go to next message
Warren Thompson is currently offline Warren ThompsonFriend
I am an IBM i developer, using Rational Developer for Power [RDP] with EGit.

Traditional source files on our platform include a built-in line sequence number in columns 1-6, and a line change date in columns 7-12. This causes headaches when doing file comparisons, because the sequence or date may have changed, while everything else on the line may be the same.

Is there any way to customize the comparison to avoid this problem?

The latest RDP version 8.5 is based on Eclipse 3.6.3, so I have loaded EGit 2.1, and the merge tool is configured with KDiff3.
Re: Ignoring source columns 1-12 when comparing files? [message #1019744 is a reply to message #1019055] Sat, 16 March 2013 14:37 Go to previous message
Robin Rosenberg is currently offline Robin RosenbergFriend
Warren Thompson skrev 2013-03-15 04.02:
> I am an IBM i developer, using Rational Developer for Power [RDP] with EGit.
>
> Traditional source files on our platform include a built-in line sequence number in columns 1-6, and a line change date in columns 7-12. This causes headaches when doing
> file comparisons, because the sequence or date may have changed, while everything else on the line may be the same.
>
> Is there any way to customize the comparison to avoid this problem?
>
Not that I know of.
> The latest RDP version 8.5 is based on Eclipse 3.6.3, so I have loaded EGit 2.1, and the merge tool is configured with KDiff3.