Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Language IDEs » C / C++ IDE (CDT) » Problem with Building My Own Project with Crypto++ (Probably Simple Newbie Issue)
Problem with Building My Own Project with Crypto++ (Probably Simple Newbie Issue) [message #1017059] Fri, 08 March 2013 19:15
Hal VaughanFriend
I don't know if I'm dealing with a total newbie problem, or if this is specific to Crypto++ or specific to Eclipse and the CDT, but I'd like to figure out how to build my project with Crypto++ included (or, prefferably, just the files I need to include).

I'm sure if I were more experienced in C++, I'd know just where to look to figure this out. I've been reading tutorials and code examples. While I'm new to C++, I have done a lot of work in Perl and Java. I can understand or work through a lot of the actual writing of code, but I'm still learning C++ syntax and dealing with issues around building a program.

In this case, I have a very simple program with just main() and a test subroutine. It builds and does a "Hello World" fine. I'm using the CDT in Eclipse 4.2.1 to do this. I'm on OS X 10.8.2. Eclipse is, by default, using gcc to compile and the MacOS X C++ Linker. (I'd like to use GNU tools for linking, too, just for consistency - using one set of tools, but I guess that doesn't really matter.) Crypto++ is 5.6.2.

Even though I know Crypto++ is complex, one reason I want to use this from the start is because I know as I get more and more advanced in C++, I won't outgrow it - I'll find more and more that I can use in it.

I imported Crypto++ into Eclipse as a project with a makefile and it builds successfully on its own.

The short of it is that I want to use Blowfish (which I've used before under Java) and, later, the DEFLATE/INFLATE features of Crypto++.