Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Language IDEs » C / C++ IDE (CDT) » No Syntax Highlighting or Coding Help
No Syntax Highlighting or Coding Help [message #725763] Thu, 15 September 2011 17:45 Go to next message
Daren Scot Wilson is currently offline Daren Scot WilsonFriend
Using Eclipe Inidgo with CDT for a small C++ project. I have many years of C++ experience, but new to Eclipse, having only done a few dainty Java and RCP tutorials. Seems slick so far, and I like the cross-platform nature of it. Now I just need to get past some beginner problems...

In my first (and so far only) C++ project, with only one source file, there's no syntax highlighting. All black text on plain white background. When I type { following an 'if' statement, I expected the } to appear automatically just like in Java, but nothing happened. All the helpful coding actions in Java are absent. Eclipse is just a flat boring plain text editor!

The source file's properties shows that Eclipse knows it's a C++ source. I looked in many places for a checkbox to turn on syntax highlighting and other features, but no luck.

Then I created a new source file. It showed up with syntax highlighting. Automatic parenthesis and all that. Hooray!

Short term solution: I deleted my original source after pasting its contents into a new file. All is well.

The question remains: why did that first source file not have syntax highlighting? Bug, or did I unwittingly do something odd with it?
Re: No Syntax Highlighting or Coding Help [message #725903 is a reply to message #725763] Fri, 16 September 2011 06:48 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Harald    is currently offline Harald Friend
Is the file recognized as file type C++ Source File?

Check this in the properties of the file Properties->Resource.

In Eclipse file names are case sensitive.

--Harald