Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » Rich Client Platform (RCP) » Self-updating an RCP application(How to update an RCP application that contains an updatable plugin)
icon6.gif  Self-updating an RCP application [message #663114] Sun, 03 April 2011 18:19 Go to next message
Zooks  is currently offline Zooks Friend
I am very new to RCP and would really appreciate some help. I am using Helios.

I have a plugin "x" that is being updated via an "x.feature" feature.
I have an RCP app "Y" that has a product definition that requires "x.feature".
I want to deliver both the plugin and the RCP app to different users, but I want both to be updated automatically when new versions get released.

Questions
1. Is the RCP app a plugin itself? I assume yes, I know it is a plugin project.

2. When we say that the RCP app is capable of self-updating, can it actually update the RCP functionality (i.e., the app can change title, add a new About Dialog, a new menu item, etc)?

3: If I want the RCP app "Y" to be self-updated, do I need to create a new feature project "Y.feature" and add 'x.feature' as an included feature?

4: If the answer to 3 is yes, do I need to set up 2 different update sites, the one just updating x.feature and the other updating Y.feature which includes x.feature? Will that force x.feature to be updated?

To summarize, do I need two different feature projects and two update sites/p2 repos?

Thank you very much.
Re: Self-updating an RCP application [message #663241 is a reply to message #663114] Mon, 04 April 2011 12:20 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Paul Webster is currently offline Paul WebsterFriend

If you provide x.feature, and people install it, they can update when
you provide a new version.

For the RCP app, it becomes slightly different. Is x.feature an add on,
or fundamental to your RCP app?