Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Modeling » MoDisco » Editing model from a Java application
Editing model from a Java application [message #655757] Tue, 22 February 2011 15:02 Go to next message
Francesca  is currently offline Francesca Friend
Hi, I am new to this modeling techniques EMF, and MoDisco. I am trying to implement a graphical editor in a Java application that allows users to edit a model of a customized visual DSL language. I have defined the meta-model of the DSL language in a ECORE model. However, I don't know how I could show and link the concepts of the model within the interface.
For example, I like to implement an interface with 2 areas: (1) an area with the DSL concepts, and (2) a working area to edit the model by selecting DSL concepts (as an EMF editor but in a Java application).

Is it supported by MoDisco? How could I do this?
Thank you in advance.
Re: Editing model from a Java application [message #655859 is a reply to message #655757] Tue, 22 February 2011 21:22 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Rob is currently offline RobFriend
Hi Francesca

I am not quite sure if I get it right what you wish to do, but maybe the easiest way to implement a graphical editor could be GMF especially as it works on Ecore Metamodels.

The Dashboard of GMF will guide you through the whole process of creating the artefacts you need to finally generate a graphical editor which creates models based on your metamodel.

Basically you will need to define the metamodel, the graphical representations for your objects in the editor and the toolbox. Then you have to combine those artefacts.
Afterwards the Dashbord will guide you to the creation of Editor Code, which can either be a plug in or RCP-Code.

Re: Editing model from a Java application [message #655902 is a reply to message #655859] Wed, 23 February 2011 09:13 Go to previous messageGo to next message