Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Modeling » Epsilon » Construct models programmatically but manipulate them with Epsilon
Construct models programmatically but manipulate them with Epsilon [message #1857254] Thu, 26 January 2023 18:18 Go to next message
Théo Giraudet is currently offline Théo GiraudetFriend
Hello,

Firstly, thanks for the great documentation available, it is really helpful!
I've looked through it a bit and I think Eclipse Epsilon is perfect for my own project but I'm having a little trouble getting started.

Firstly:
- I want to use Eclipse Epsilon outside from Eclipse IDE
- I use EMF (but I'm not very good with it yet)
- I use Maven
- I want to do transformations and model to text later but I will not detail that here because I think these parts are sufficiently documented

I have created a tiny metamodel with EMFatic and I see thanks to the documentation how to use it with Eclipse Epsilon, through Maven.

But in my case, my models have do be built during runtime because the information to create them comes from several external sources.
In the website, I found that I can load metamodel and model in a programmatically way (here) but if I understand well I have to load them at the same time and from files in the filesystem.

As I have to build my model with Java code, it is better for me to have my metamodel as java classes. My first question is:
- Is it possible to generate from EMFatic the classes for the metamodel in the same way I can with EMF and ecore/genmodel files? If yes, is it possible to trigger the generation in a Maven phase?

That done, I will have my metamodel and models loaded with EMF. Can I use them with Eclipse Epsilon without have to load a file as I found on the website?

Thank you in advance for your help!