Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » 4DIAC - Framework for Distributed Industrial Automation and Control » Working tutorial for 4diac(Any recent updates to Tutorial)
Working tutorial for 4diac [message #1849895] Mon, 07 February 2022 18:13 Go to next message
Sentekin Can is currently offline Sentekin CanFriend
I am an Industrial Electrical Engineer who used first PLCs, like 5TI and Modicon484.. I am excited about 4diac and like to built a working controls.
I understand the Tutorial needs to be updated, I can understand man power shortages, however Basic Tutorial is entrance point for beginners and very important as welcoming. I see many advanced users here who could be supporting beginners with a blinker tutorial . I will be happy to help in industrial controls aspects but just a beginner in 4diac and Tutorial is not sufficient to make blink program to work.
Best wishes for success of everyone here.
Re: Working tutorial for 4diac [message #1849929 is a reply to message #1849895] Tue, 08 February 2022 19:49 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Barry Dowdeswell is currently offline Barry DowdeswellFriend
Hi Sentekin,

Yes, learning a new system like 4diac can be complex. Over the summer, I have been helping one of my students learn 4diac for a research project in my laboratory. I developed a brief tutorial for her that I have attached here. It is still a work in progress, but you may find it useful.

Our approach was based on these two assumptions:

1 - We wanted to create an example project with one, new function block and which also used an existing 4diac library block. Learning those two aspects introduces a lot of fundamental 4diac concepts.

2 - We write our algorithms in C++ rather than Structured Text. Writing the same algorithms in Structured Text should work fine since they are not complex algorithms.