Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » Eclipse Platform » Kepler: On start up, I no longer get prompted for workspace location
Kepler: On start up, I no longer get prompted for workspace location [message #1067487] Tue, 09 July 2013 04:31 Go to next message
Dan Thurman is currently offline Dan ThurmanFriend
On first time start up, I was prompted to choose the
default workspace location or to enter another workspace
location, so I entered another workspace location, clicked
OK and the IDE was up and running. I note that the new
location data is listed in the workspace location list
in the 'Preferences' menu.

However, when I closed down Eclipse, then later started
Eclipse again, I am no longer prompted with the workspace
location and was taken to the default (home) workspace.

So in order to switch to the desired location, I am now
required to use File->Switch Location...-> (previously
entered location from first time start up) and go through
the start up process again. This is annoying.

Is this a bug or a new feature? Previous releases worked
fine prior to Kepler.
Re: Kepler: On start up, I no longer get prompted for workspace location [message #1067665 is a reply to message #1067487] Tue, 09 July 2013 22:20 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Rainville is currently offline Michel RainvilleFriend
In Eclipse Juno,

It's in Preferences,Startup and Shutdown, Workspaces
Check "Prompt for Workspaces on Startup"

(You may have accidentally checked "Make this the default and don't ask again" in the workspace dialog at the start. )

Re: Kepler: On start up, I no longer get prompted for workspace location [message #1068205 is a reply to message #1067665] Fri, 12 July 2013 17:10 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Dan Thurman is currently offline Dan ThurmanFriend
Juno is not a problem, only in Kepler, and
this problem is 100% repeatable on start up,