Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Newcomers » Newcomers » Eclipse and Team :: Basic Questions(Eclipse, Team)
Eclipse and Team :: Basic Questions [message #1849413] Tue, 18 January 2022 18:33 Go to next message
PETER HUMMON is currently offline PETER HUMMONFriend
Hi Eclipse People,

I'm an entry-level developer who has used Eclipse before, but never used the Team feature. I've been assigned to a work project where we use Team to version control project code. I've used command line SVN before, so I'm somewhat familiar with the basic concepts involved. But I have some fundamental questions about Eclipse and Team interact. (The documentation I've consulted online are either too brief or too expansive.)

To specify: A colleague walked me through how to clone a version of our project from my company's GitHub repository. The cloned code is running fine on my local instance of Eclipse. However, since working with the code, I look at the project in my Package Explorer (I'm using the "Java" Perspective) and now I noticed a little '>' character next to some of the resources, folders, packages, and classes. Hmmm.

Here's a crude recreation of what the project looks like in my Package Explorer:

> CompanyProjectA
     (Folder) src/main/java
     (Folder) > src/test/java
          (Package) > com.us.basic.tests
               (Class) ClassA.java
               (Class) > ClassB.java
               (Class) ClassC.java
               (Class) ClassD.java

I don't believe that those '>' were there when I started looking at the code. A Google search suggests that the '>' indicated a file that has been modified on the master copy since I cloned. i.e., I can infer that someone modified "ClassB.java" since I cloned. Is this correct?