Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Newcomers » Newcomers » Eclipse with a new UI in 2021.
Eclipse with a new UI in 2021. [message #1844370] Sat, 11 September 2021 12:41 Go to next message
Drakgoku cpl is currently offline Drakgoku cplFriend
We are in the middle of 2021 where many IDEs are disputed. Without a doubt, eclipse is # 1 for Java 2EE.

What happens is that it has an interface from the 90s. There are many IDEs that have better visualization (one of the best known today but IntelliJ IDEA is quite expensive annually).

Could you try to make a little more UI friendly like IntelliJ IDEA or VSC? with current theme?

I have been doing Java for many years and the concept that the best text editor is "word" does not match with having a good editor.

My post:
https://github.com/dracula/eclipse/issues/4

They should have a lighter design like the 2 IDEs discussed above. Thus, Eclipse would gain more market.

We are not in the 90's, to say "if it works, don't touch it." These kinds of minds do not prosper. Recycling is important.
Re: Eclipse with a new UI in 2021. [message #1844382 is a reply to message #1844370] Sun, 12 September 2021 08:36 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Ed Merks is currently offline Ed MerksFriend
It's free and it's open source. You could get involved.

https://wiki.eclipse.org/Platform/How_to_Contribute

I know that software is often treated like fashion where we see "new and improved" user interfaces that all too frequently feel like "just different but not better". But yes, fashion trends can't be completely ignored either...

Ed Merks
Professional Support: https://www.macromodeling.com/
Re: Eclipse with a new UI in 2021. [message #1844863 is a reply to message #1844382] Tue, 28 September 2021 09:29 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Alex McKee is currently offline Alex McKeeFriend