Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Newcomers » Newcomers » Launcher unable to locate shared library
Launcher unable to locate shared library [message #1821104] Wed, 05 February 2020 16:10 Go to next message
Frank LloydFriend
I've been trying to install Eclipse for Java Developers on some lab computers for the county school system work in IT for. Once installed under a domain admin account it will launch fine. But when any other user tries to launch it with their standard domain account they get the message: "The Eclipse executable launcher was unable to locate its companion shared library"

I have installed as a local admin, my domain admin account, and edited the properties for the shortcuts like I see recommended. I have spent about 6 hours total on this and have reached the end of the road. I've gone into the Eclipse directory properties security tab and granted full permissions to both all local users and all domain users. Still nada.

Any help to get this working wold be SO appreciated.

Thanks!

Re: Launcher unable to locate shared library [message #1821126 is a reply to message #1821104] Thu, 06 February 2020 05:44 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Ed Merks is currently offline Ed MerksFriend
Did you install using the installer or by unpacking a packaged download?

If you used the installer, read the information (available via the installer's menu, Ask a Question), about the bundle pool.

https://www.eclipse.org/setups/installer/question/

I.e., either you should disable the shared bundle pool or you should ensure its folder is visible and read-only. The installation folder itself should also be visible and read-only.

Ed Merks
Professional Support: https://www.macromodeling.com/
Re: Launcher unable to locate shared library [message #1821296 is a reply to message #1821126] Mon, 10 February 2020 14:33 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Frank LloydFriend