Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Newcomers » Newcomers » Eclipse IDE for Java Developers doesn't start-up. Exit code 2
Eclipse IDE for Java Developers doesn't start-up. Exit code 2 [message #1797178] Sat, 27 October 2018 01:49 Go to next message
Rafael Rodriguez is currently offline Rafael RodriguezFriend
I have been using 'Eclipse IDE for Java Developers' for several months and suddenly Eclipse is not able to open anymore.

When I try to open it I got these error messages in sequence:
1. Error opening registry key 'Software\JavaSoft\Java Runtime Environment'
2. Error: could not find java.dll
3. Error: could not find Java SE Runtime Environment
4. <very long text shown in the picture attached>

I have searched on the internet a solution for this problems and I have done so far but the problem persists:

a. Reinstall Java (jdk-11.0.1_windows-x64_bin.exe)

b. check windows registry and I noticed such 'Software\JavaSoft\Java Runtime Environment' doesn't exist. I found these
Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\JavaSoft\JDK
Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\JavaSoft\JDK\11.0.1
Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\JavaSoft\JDK\11.0.1\MSI

c. on CMD I got this
C:\>java -version
Error: opening registry key 'Software\JavaSoft\Java Runtime Environment'
Error: could not find java.dll
Error: Could not find Java SE Runtime Environment.

I appreciate any help to solve this issue.

Thank you
Re: Eclipse IDE for Java Developers doesn't start-up. Exit code 2 [message #1797195 is a reply to message #1797178] Sat, 27 October 2018 15:38 Go to previous messageGo to next message
David Wegener is currently offline David WegenerFriend