Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » Kura » Web Application in KURA
Web Application in KURA [message #1751136] Wed, 04 January 2017 19:39 Go to next message
Giuseppe D\'Aniello is currently offline Giuseppe D\'AnielloFriend
Hello!
I'm new to Kura.
I need to design an application for Raspberry in which I both send sensor data to a server (via MQTT) and provide the users with a web site on the raspberry.

I have seen that there is an embedded jetty server in KURA.

Is it possible to use this server to develop a complete web application (as in other OSGI container)? Is there any tutorial about this?

According to you, which could be the best process? Save the sensor data into a local database, then send it to the central server and then the local web application read the data from the database? Or maybe, it is better to have a local MQTT broker and have the web application registered to the topics in order to show the data to the users?

Thank for your attention

Re: Web Application in KURA [message #1751616 is a reply to message #1751136] Wed, 11 January 2017 22:53 Go to previous message
David Woodard is currently offline David WoodardFriend
Hello,

Yes, you can host your own web application within a bundle inside of Kura using the Jetty server. We don't have a demo for this, but you simply need to use the OSGi HttpService to register you resources. Something like:

this.httpService.registerResources("/mywebpage", "www/index.html", null);

Then place your web related code inside a "www" directory of your bundle.