Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » Kura » Setting Up Kura and Wifi on RPi 3 Model B
Setting Up Kura and Wifi on RPi 3 Model B [message #1740106] Tue, 09 August 2016 09:53 Go to next message
Sameek Bhaumik is currently offline Sameek BhaumikFriend
Dear All,

I am new to Kura and trying to setup Kura Wifi on RPi 3 Model B.

The Kura version I am working on is 1.4.0.

The goal is to setup Kura Wifi access point so that data from sensors/devices can be pulled over wifi and at the same time push the data over Internet enabled wifi network to which the Rpi connects.

So, effectively there would be two wireless networks.
1) Where RPi acts as a access point to receive data from sensors
2) Where the RPi connects to a access point (Wireless Router) to push the sensor data.

I need to help to achieve this configuration.

Pls let me know in case additional details are required.
Re: Setting Up Kura and Wifi on RPi 3 Model B [message #1740259 is a reply to message #1740106] Wed, 10 August 2016 21:52 Go to previous messageGo to next message
David Woodard is currently offline David WoodardFriend
Hello,

I am not sure what kind of help you need. Did you get Kura installed? When you open the web UI, are you seeing both of your wireless interfaces listed under the networking tab?

Thanks,
--Dave
Re: Setting Up Kura and Wifi on RPi 3 Model B [message #1740272 is a reply to message #1740259] Thu, 11 August 2016 06:57 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Hi Dave,

Thanks for the reply.

Yes, I've got Kura installed. I can see wlan0 only under interfaces in the networking tab.

I think I missed a point while asking the initial question, to get both the interfaces listed I need a usb wifi dongle in addition to the in-built wifi which I don't have at the moment. I am new to Linux, so pls confirm whether I need a wifi dongle also.