Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Archived » Eclipse SmartHome » How do I build so I can test the UI
How do I build so I can test the UI [message #1718669] Tue, 29 December 2015 02:57 Go to next message
Grady Duncan is currently offline Grady DuncanFriend
Hey everyone,

I'm new to maven so I think I have done something wrong. I forked the github repo, cloned the forked repo and then ran 'mvn install clean'. About 20 minutes later it finished building. When I extracted the 'SNAPSHOT-repo' zip file I was unable to run anything. When I clicked on any of the JAR files I get an "invalid or corrupt JARfile".

How can I build the repo so I can actually test UI changes?
Re: How do I build so I can test the UI [message #1718681 is a reply to message #1718669] Tue, 29 December 2015 08:06 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Kai Kreuzer is currently offline Kai KreuzerFriend
You cannot execute any binaries, since Eclipse SmartHome is a framework that is rather a bunch of bundles only. For developing, you should setup the IDE (see https://www.eclipse.org/smarthome/documentation/development/ide.html), which comes with a launch configuration to start up the runtime. Alternatively, you could also use the IDE for openHAB 2 (as it is usually easier to setup) and only import the projects from ESH into your workspace that you want to work on. But if you want to work on stuff like minifying, you will indeed have to test the jar as the build result. For this, it is best if you use the openHAB 2 runtime and put your jars in the "addons" folder.
Re: How do I build so I can test the UI [message #1718766 is a reply to message #1718681] Wed, 30 December 2015 00:15 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Sebastian Janzen is currently offline Sebastian JanzenFriend
For UI development, I set up my IDE with Eclipse Installer like in the Tutorial Kai mentioned.