Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » Eclipse Scout » Complete Scout Newbie
Complete Scout Newbie [message #1484303] Sun, 23 November 2014 09:51 Go to next message
Peter Pfeifer is currently offline Peter PfeiferFriend

Hello there,

I'm a complete scout newbie and went through the wiki, scout book and forums the last 2 weeks. Nevertheless I have got a few unanswered questions... I hope someone of you can lead me in the right direction... Smile

1. Outline based Application

• How can I get the OutlineToolbar to work?
      If I add several Outlines to the Desktop, do I have to take care of populating a OutlineToolbar by myself? If so, how?
    • Is it possible to define an initial height and width for the different view placeholders?

2. Outline & TablePage

• Whats the most convenient way to create a master/detail form?
      Is it with a TablePage and a detail form to this table page?
      Or is it to open separate views in the same view placeholder (eg. South)?
      How can I realize a data binding between the selected row in the table page and the row displayed in the detail form? Because I'd like to immediately reflect the changes when the the details are changed. Or at least, when the are saved. Is there a way to achieve this?
    • Is it possible to detect a double-click on a selected table-row in order to open a new detail form/-view with the data of selected row?
    • Is it possible to add a search box on top of the table in the table page? And when typing there to search for the entered text?
    • Is it possible to add a toolbar to a table page (e.g. for creating, deleteing an entity or activating the search form)?

3. Forms

• Is there a way to hide "OK/Cancel"-Buttons when the form is display as view?
    • Is there a way to detect that a view with a specific primary key was already opened and instead of opening it again just activate and show it?