Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » Sirius » Custom Layout for Containers
Custom Layout for Containers [message #1403830] Mon, 28 July 2014 08:03 Go to next message
Aleksandar Kanchev is currently offline Aleksandar KanchevFriend
Hello, I'm new to creating diagram editors using frameworks like GMF and Sirius. However it looks quite easy creating diagram editors with Sirius, so we're giving it a try in our project. Currently we have a problem where we need a container with an advanced layout. Our goal could be achieved by chaining small containers together with the currently available layouts but this will complicate the graphical model and there are concerns about maintainability and performance.

One very nice solution would be if we could define our own layout manager, which would take care of the positions of the contained child nodes. Since we're new to Sirius (and GMF) we couldn't easily find the place where we could just plug our custom layout provider. I was hoping that someone with more experience might point us to the right direction or even better provide us with an example. Thanks!
Re: Custom Layout for Containers [message #1404011 is a reply to message #1403830] Tue, 29 July 2014 07:25 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Florian Barbin is currently offline Florian BarbinFriend
Hi Aleksandar,

Take a look on this post which is similar to your need:
https://www.eclipse.org/forums/index.php/mv/msg/639946/1234795/#msg_1234795

Regards,

Florian

On 07/28/2014 07:02 PM, Aleksandar Kanchev wrote:
> Hello, I'm new to creating diagram editors using frameworks like GMF and
> Sirius. However it looks quite easy creating diagram editors with
> Sirius, so we're giving it a try in our project. Currently we have a
> problem where we need a container with an advanced layout. Our goal
> could be achieved by chaining small containers together with the