Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Archived » EPF » Use Outside of Software Development
icon3.gif  Use Outside of Software Development [message #885410] Wed, 13 June 2012 00:06 Go to next message
Bryan Beswick is currently offline Bryan BeswickFriend
Sorry if this has already been asked. I'm new to EPF. Would it be possible to use the EPF Composer to construct an entirely new framework that documents a body of knowledge completely different from software development?

I've got an opportunity to assemble best practices, roles, checklists, tasks, workflows, guidelines, etc around successful business management and operations. I see a lot of parallels between software engineering and business management in that they both have these types of things - only the details are different. I would really like to be able to produce a powerful cross-linked mechanism like OpenUp but about business leadership, management and operations. The problem is:

1) I don't know if the EPF Composer tool is flexible enough to handle that scenario
2) I don't have a clue where to start - most examples talk about adding a plugin that extends the OpenUp existing framework.

Your sage wisdom is appreciated!

[Updated on: Wed, 13 June 2012 00:07]

Report message to a moderator

Re: Use Outside of Software Development [message #885492 is a reply to message #885410] Wed, 13 June 2012 05:39 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Onno van der Straaten is currently offline Onno van der StraatenFriend
That is possible. For examples it will be useful to also look at Rational Method Composer (RMC) which is the product IBM developed on top of EPF.

This is one example http:--www.ibm.com-developerworks-rational-library-edge-08-jul08-peraire-index.html of where it was used for something else than software development.

The following PDF might be interesting read for you