Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Modeling » Compare » Using EMF Compare to Compare models
Using EMF Compare to Compare models [message #1720948] Fri, 22 January 2016 06:29 Go to next message
Virajitha Kota is currently offline Virajitha KotaFriend
I am new to Papyrus and EMF Compare tools. I need help in comparing the differences between two models using EMF Compare.

I have the following setup:
- Eclipse Mars
- Papyrus UML 1.1.2
- Model Comparison (EMF Compare) - 3.1.1
Model Comparison (EMF Compare) - Papyrus Support - 3.1.1
Model Comparison (EMF Compare) - UML2 Support - 3.1.1
- Content type in (Preferences - General) already has *di and *notation (locked)

Now, when I launch EMF Compare between two different models (ie *di (or) *notation (or)*uml), I get a message that there are no Model differences.

Please let me know if I am missing some steps.

Thanks.
Re: Using EMF Compare to Compare models [message #1721017 is a reply to message #1720948] Fri, 22 January 2016 15:30 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Eric Rizzo is currently offline Eric RizzoFriend
Moving this to the EMF Compare forum.
Re: Using EMF Compare to Compare models [message #1721588 is a reply to message #1720948] Thu, 28 January 2016 14:03 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Philip Langer is currently offline Philip LangerFriend

Hi Virajitha,

you are comparing a copy of one Papyrus model with another, both residing in the workspace, right? So no Git repo involved, right?

With which files do you start the comparison? Have you tried starting the comparison for the uml-file or the notation-file instead of selecting the Papyrus "OneFile" node? Because this node is adapted to the di-file, thus by starting the comparison from the Papyrus OneFile node, you may eventually end up comparing the two di-files, which usually are empty.

Best wishes,

Philip

--
Philip Langer