Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Modeling » TMF (Xtext) » Problem adding custom feature & operations with implementations to Xtext generated ECore model(Is there a way not modifying generated code every time?)
icon12.gif  Problem adding custom feature & operations with implementations to Xtext generated ECore model [message #1609854] Tue, 10 February 2015 11:30 Go to next message
Evermind Mising name is currently offline Evermind Mising nameFriend
Hi everybody,
I am new to Xtext and EMF. I have a simple Xtext syntax which is simplified from real case:

Expression:
PrimaryExpression | GroupExpression;

PrimaryExpression:
variable=ID '= ' value=ID ';' ;

GroupExpression:
'(' exprs+=Expression+ ')';

So the syntax accepts code like:
((((x=y;)e=f;g=h;(a=b;)c=d;)))

What I want to do is:
1. adding a feature 'index' to generated 'GroupExpression' Java interface, so that I can traverse AST later and assign a sequence number to each GroupExpression instance;
I managed to achieve this by adding a "phantom" syntax fragment into GroupExpression, just like:

GroupIndex: '00000000000000000'; // Recognize an identifier that pratically cannot be matched accidently

GroupExpression:
'(' index=GroupIndex? exprs+=Expression+ ')'; // index can never be matched, but Xtext will generate a feature for it, so I can use it to store calculated index value.

This can get THIS thing done, however I think it is limited and not elegant. Wonder if there is a better way.

2.I want to add an operation "void evaluate(String expr)" to generated interface Expression, and provide a default implementation that can be baked into generated code. I didn't find a way to achieve this though. I found some article saying "Generation gap pattern" which is using EcoreGenerator and it will