Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Newcomers » Newcomers » Eclipse C/C++ won't start(Using Yosemite on Mac and Java 8)
Eclipse C/C++ won't start [message #1466941] Sun, 09 November 2014 17:15 Go to next message
Brenda Beyke is currently offline Brenda BeykeFriend
the problem seems to be the jre update to 8 which would not install in the /System/Library/Java/JavaVirtualMachines/.... so I have moved it there myself and my .ini matches the path. (I'm also brand new to Mac). I have read everything here that I can and cannot figure out why it won't run.

[Updated on: Sun, 09 November 2014 21:36]

Report message to a moderator

Re: Eclipse C/C++ won't start [message #1468041 is a reply to message #1466941] Mon, 10 November 2014 14:28 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Eric Rizzo is currently offline Eric RizzoFriend
More details are needed, you haven't provided enough information for anyone to even guess what's happening. For example, what does "won't start" mean specifically? What package of Eclipse (what, specifically, did you download)? What does your eclipse.ini look like? etc
Re: Eclipse C/C++ won't start [message #1470928 is a reply to message #1468041] Wed, 12 November 2014 18:53 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Thank you for responding. "Won't start" means just that. I get an error window saying Eclipse quit unexpectedly. I have just updated my mac to Yosemite, I have installed the C/C++ Eclipse Luna package and I have installed Runtime 8.1.0_25. I have added the vm argument to my .ini as noted on this forum as such ....-vm
/System/Library/Java/JavaVirtualMachines/jre1.8.0_25.jre/Contents/Home/bin/java
-vmargs
Dosgi.requiredJavaVersion=1.7 .....

I was initially having trouble with the runtime update which made setting that version in the .ini file not match. I have since corrected that and have the current update in the correct directory.