Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » Rich Client Platform (RCP) » Perspective UI Design best practices (Adding a new Perspective that has forms to fill, when all current Perspectives are editor based)
Perspective UI Design best practices [message #1398067] Thu, 10 July 2014 15:00
David Wynter is currently offline David WynterFriend
I have a RCP based product that has a few perspectives. All of the current perspectives have the typical tree view of objects on the left side, navigation view for canvases under that, using about 25% of the width and the section to the right is tab accessible editors associated with the objects in the tree view on the left. There is also a properties sheet under the editor area.

Unfortunately the guy who wrote this is now gone and I am a relative novice with RCP.

Now I have to add a new perspective with several forms to be filled in and am unsure how this fits in visually with the typical editor based perspectives. Can someone suggest a UI best practice resource or advice on how these might work together? This doesn't really help https://wiki.eclipse.org/Eclipse4/RCP/Modeled_UI/Best_Practices
And this http://www.modumind.com/eclipse-rcp-best-practices/
is great for structural details but I cannot find best design practices.

A few specific question come to mind.

Here is the context: Current perspectives support editing technical rules, workflows and ETL mapping. These have a tree view of data assets and a separate tree with product assets, where the later are collection of workflows, ETL and rules that manipulate the data assets. The new perspective will support entering data about licencing restrictions associated with the data assets output to particular consumers and billing units associated with data assets that are output to specific consumers.