Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Modeling » EMF "Technology" (Ecore Tools, EMFatic, etc)  » Target platform for ECP and RAP
Target platform for ECP and RAP [message #1386415] Tue, 17 June 2014 12:40 Go to next message
Christian Reuter is currently offline Christian ReuterFriend
Hi,

I am new to ECP and RAP but have been working with RCP and EMF for a while now.

Currently I want to create a RAP application with ECP.
The first step is to get the ecp rap demo up and running but I am struggling with this step for quite a while now.
I imported the demo and created a target platform (used the RAP target platform and added ECP-E4-SDK, ECP-RAP-SDK, Net4J-SDK, EMF-RAP-components and EMF Data Binding) as well as a launch configuration.
The project is error free and the bundle validation of the runtime configuration shows no problems. However I keep getting runtime errors. for example:
org.eclipse.ui.PartInitException: Could not create view: org.eclipse.emf.ecp.ui.ModelRepositoriesView

Obviously there are some plugins missing.
I have tried to add things to my target as well as to the launch config but this seems to take forever using a "try and error" approach, the dependencies list seems to get way too long and I still keep getting runtime errors.

Could anyone please give me some advice what exactly must be contained in the target platform to get the ecp rap demo running?

Is there a smarter way to find out which bundles are required besides "try and error"?

Can I download a working target platform for this use case anywhere or can I find one within any of the ECP bundles?

There are outstanding tutorials on how to use ECP but I could not find any good documentation on how to combine it with RAP. If such a tutorial exists please provide a link.

I am using the Luna and ECP 1.3.0 (build from June 10)

Thx in advance for your help!

chris