Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » GEF » ZEST: Register GraphViewer as a model listener
ZEST: Register GraphViewer as a model listener [message #1273156] Wed, 19 March 2014 16:07 Go to next message
Robert Walter is currently offline Robert WalterFriend
Hi,
this might be a stupid question but I'm new to ZEST and GEF.

THe following use case: I have my own RCP application where I integrated my own GraphView as a ViewPart.
It is added via an extension point, so (I think) I have no control about the instantiation of my view and its containing GraphViewer instance (I might be wrong here).

What I want to do is to show the view next to an Xtext editor where the user can manipulate a model. When the user saves the changes, I have a hook from Xtext to be notified if the new model should be build (by overriding the BuilderParticipant that invokes the generator of my language).

The problem is that, from within my Xtext code, I see no clean chance to access the ViewPart and/or GraphViewer instance that was created during eclipse startup. I know that I could ask the workbench for the view part via its id but this seems unnecessary complicated.

Isn't the described use case quite popular (that you want to register a viewer to a model) but you don't know about the model when eclipse instantiates the view? What's the kook here?

Thanks.
Re: ZEST: Register GraphViewer as a model listener [message #1273163 is a reply to message #1273156] Wed, 19 March 2014 16:26 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Zoltan Ujhelyi is currently offline Zoltan UjhelyiFriend
Hi,

instead of replacing the builderparticipant, I suggest an alternative approach.

First, create a command (or action) that loads the model using the current editor. This command can know about your ViewPart/GraphViewer, so it can initialize its content.