Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » GEF » Unable to understand how GEF works to map models onto editparts?!!!!!!!!!
Unable to understand how GEF works to map models onto editparts?!!!!!!!!! [message #207776] Sat, 21 January 2006 06:17 Go to next message
Eclipse UserFriend
Originally posted by: asha_ramegowda.yahoo.com

Hello...

I am completely new to Eclipse and I have to work with GEF plugin! I
have to develop a Graphical Editor for some existing model. I am iterating
through that examples to understand how it works! So far I have understood
how GEF allows to develop based on MVC architecture but I am surprised to
see just calling getHost().getModel() in an editpart would magically set the
corresponding model object though no where it's explicitly set as the
concerned model for that editpart!
I hope some one would explain me what mechanism GEF uses to return the
corresponding model when some one calls the getModel() method? How it sets
the model for an editpart? Is there something that happens behind the scenes
like... how a request object is created when some one simply select a tool
in the pallette in GEF?

Thank you.
Re: Unable to understand how GEF works to map models onto editparts?!!!!!!! [message #207793 is a reply to message #207776] Sun, 22 January 2006 19:49 Go to previous messageGo to next message
venkataramana m is currently offline venkataramana mFriend
Asha, well as I can understand the GEF framework it goes something like this ... (Please be patient till your questions are answered after a long story)

Everything starts with the tool selected. Thats where the entry starts ...

1. Tool converts low-level mouse and keyboard events to high level events which can be captured by overriding certain methods AbstractTargetingTool etc.,