Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Archived » BIRT » counting distinct items of a column and put it into computed column(data loaded from csv file - need count distinct item from a column)
counting distinct items of a column and put it into computed column [message #1083484] Sat, 10 August 2013 02:09 Go to next message
Bonny Fog is currently offline Bonny FogFriend
Hi,

I am new to BIRT. I have loaded a csv file that has a column that contains city names.
I want the report to contain how many times each city name has showed up in the column like the following:

Original table
City
-----
New York
Washington
Toronto
Paris
Paris
Washington

Report table
City Number
----- ------
Paris 2
Washington 2
Toronto 1
New York 1

Since the data is loaded from CSV file the Query option is not visible. Any suggestion to do it will be appreciated.

Thanks
Re: counting distinct items of a column and put it into computed column [message #1083562 is a reply to message #1083484] Sat, 10 August 2013 05:14 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michael Williams is currently offline Michael WilliamsFriend

If you group the table by city, you can remove the detail row and drag an aggregation from the palette to the group header and use the count aggregation function to give you the count for each group.

Hope this helps!

Michael

Developer Evangelist, Silanis
Re: counting distinct items of a column and put it into computed column [message #1083808 is a reply to message #1083562] Sat, 10 August 2013 14:35 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Bonny Fog is currently offline Bonny FogFriend
Thanks Michael. It works.
Re: counting distinct items of a column and put it into computed column [message #1083847 is a reply to message #1083808] Sat, 10 August 2013 15:58 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michael Williams is currently offline Michael WilliamsFriend

Great! Glad to help!

Michael