Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Language IDEs » C / C++ IDE (CDT) » -MT appears to be incorrect for header file dependency generation?
-MT appears to be incorrect for header file dependency generation? [message #1071955] Sun, 21 July 2013 18:04 Go to next message
Shannon Holland is currently offline Shannon HollandFriend
Hello,

I'm fairly new to Eclipse/CDT so there's likely something stupid I'm missing here But, the issue I was trying to track down was why CDT (in a managed external build) would not recompile source files based on header file dependencies.

Looking through the makefiles I see that the .d files are being generated and included. However, the target within each .d file is the .d file itself rather than the .o file. So, on a header file update make will want to rebuild the .d file (for which there is no rule) rather than the .o file...

If I manually edit the .d file to set the target as a .o and run make from the command line then make will correctly rebuild the object file.

It appears the .d dependency is being explicitly set with a -MT option to the compiler. Is there a way I can change this? Or is something else going on that I'm missing?

I'm using Eclipse Juno with the latest CDT (just updated).

Thanks for any help!

Shannon

[Updated on: Mon, 22 July 2013 04:43]

Report message to a moderator

Re: -MT appears to be incorrect for header file dependency generation? [message #1072848 is a reply to message #1071955] Tue, 23 July 2013 16:29 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Geoff Kaniuk is currently offline Geoff KaniukFriend
Hi,