Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Language IDEs » C / C++ IDE (CDT) » multiple main functions within one C project(multiple definition of main)
multiple main functions within one C project [message #1047145] Mon, 22 April 2013 21:20 Go to next message
Mackie M is currently offline Mackie MFriend
Hello, I'm new to C eclipse. I use eclipse for java programs and found it very easy to create new classes within one project but now working on C. I would like to know how do I create multiple main programs within one project just as I could while running java. I have a C book and use youtube and I'm always creating new programs but would like to keep all organized under one C project. If I try to run a second main program I will get an error such as multiple definition of main. I guess I can create a new project for every tutorial/chapter but that option doesn't seem appropriate so I'd like to keep my projects organized just as could when working with Java.

Any help would be highly appreciated.

Re: multiple main functions within one C project [message #1047620 is a reply to message #1047145] Tue, 23 April 2013 12:56 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Arash Java is currently offline Arash JavaFriend
Why do you need mpultiple main-function?? it's not possible in c to have more than 1 main-function. you could use preprocessor directives like "#ifdef" to compile just one main-function at the time. an switch to another main-funtion by changing the condition.
But its not a good programing style.
Re: multiple main functions within one C project [message #1047892 is a reply to message #1047145] Tue, 23 April 2013 20:10 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Nobody Mising name is currently offline Nobody Mising nameFriend
Mackie M wrote on Mon, 22 April 2013 17:20