Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » Virgo » Remote Node Management
Remote Node Management [message #1022430] Thu, 21 March 2013 21:29 Go to next message
stuart donald is currently offline stuart donaldFriend
Hi

I currently have a cluster of OSGi runtimes, by this I mean I have a master slave setup, where I have a number of nodes on different machines which I can send work to from the master node. Each of the nodes is a headless equinox runtime. I am currently running on naked equinox, and do the co-ordination via JMS and Zookeeper. This side of things works OK, the issue I am facing now is how to automatically deploy new nodes, and perform updates to existing nodes.

I am considering using an OSGi container such as Virgo or Karaf so that I can break the application up into parts that can be updated, as updates are likely to consist of a bunch of bundles rather than just a single bundle, and then there are the issues about what happens with dependent bundles/services when updating a bundle that I would rather not have to deal with myself (which I believe containers like Karaf/Virgo can help with).

My question is, if I use Virgo (probably Nano) as a container for my application, what are my options for managing a group of nodes, pushing out updates, deploying new nodes? There are projects like Apache Ace, and FuseSource Fabric which look promising, though ACE seems a little under documented, and Fabric seems to work only with Karaf.

Can anyone offer any suggestions on how I can perform and manage updates to a group of Virgo nodes?
Re: Remote Node Management [message #1022861 is a reply to message #1022430] Fri, 22 March 2013 16:56 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Gunnar Wagenknecht is currently offline Gunnar WagenknechtFriend

Am 21.03.2013 17:29, schrieb stuart donald: