Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Language IDEs » Java Development Tools (JDT) » How to find position in the java file of an element
How to find position in the java file of an element [message #1019691] Sat, 16 March 2013 11:20 Go to next message
Stave Escura is currently offline Stave EscuraFriend
I am an Eclipse newbie, so I appreciate any help you can give.

Big Picture: I want to add annotationmarkers to IJavaElements that match some condition (think static code analysis).

Current state: I have learnt how to add annotations in my own text editor. I calculate the start and end position by reading the resource in as a file, and finding the start and end points of strings in the text representation of the source. The following code adds the annotations exactly where I want them
	IWorkbench workbench = PlatformUI.getWorkbench();
	IEditorPart activeWorkbenchWindow = workbench.getActiveWorkbenchWindow().getActivePage().getActiveEditor();
	if (activeWorkbenchWindow instanceof AbstractDecoratedTextEditor) {
		AbstractDecoratedTextEditor editor = (AbstractDecoratedTextEditor) activeWorkbenchWindow;
		IAnnotationModel annotationModel = ((AbstractDecoratedTextEditor) activeWorkbenchWindow).getDocumentProvider().getAnnotationModel(editor.getEditorInput());
		IMarker marker = resource.createMarker(IMarker.PROBLEM); //later on this won't be a PROBLEM
		marker.setAttribute(IMarker.MESSAGE, "Some Text"); //just to see it in the tooltip
		MarkerAnnotation annotation = new MarkerAnnotation(marker);
		Position position = new Position(...startPosition..., ...lengt...);	
		annotationModel.addAnnotation(annotation, position);