Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Newcomers » Newcomers » Eclipse is too slow and uses too much memory(I am having severe performance trouble with Eclipse Juno)
Eclipse is too slow and uses too much memory [message #986062] Sun, 18 November 2012 01:01 Go to next message
Blah McBlah is currently offline Blah McBlahFriend
I'm brand new to Eclipse so I don't know what's normal but it seems to be using way more memory than necessary. It's super slow too. It takes a minute to just start and 5-10 seconds to just open a file or display a context menu. It won't even let me scroll up and down in a file without making me wait every half page. It's unusable. So I assume there is a remedy or else nobody would be able to use it.

I'm using Juno and I start it with
"C:\Program Files\eclipse\eclipse.exe" -vmargs -Xms256m -Xmx256m -XX:PermSize=128m -XX:MaxPermSize=128m

I changed -Xms256m -Xmx256m to -Xms1024m -Xmx1024m and it did the same thing.

To start with, Eclipse is using around 300 MB of memory. This seems like a lot because Dreamweaver is only using about 50 MB to do basically the same thing. It's not a CAD program or anything.

But then if I open a 5 KB file, all of a sudden the Eclipse memory jumps a hundred MB. Then if I close the file, the memory doesn't go down. Eventually, it consumes all of my memory and grinds painfully to a hault.

I read that there's a Juno memory bug scheduled for remedy in February. Can someone recommend something to do in the meantime?

Windows XP Home
1.5 GB Memory
500 GB disk
dual core Intel Atom 1.6 GHz processor

here is what's installed...
index.php/fa/12429/0/

Thanks!!!
Re: Eclipse is too slow and uses too much memory [message #986064 is a reply to message #986062] Sun, 18 November 2012 04:35 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Nitin Dahyabhai is currently offline Nitin DahyabhaiFriend