Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Language IDEs » Java Development Tools (JDT) » Caching or improving search
Caching or improving search [message #867501] Tue, 01 May 2012 10:25 Go to next message
Roberto Lo Giacco is currently offline Roberto Lo GiaccoFriend
Hi all,
I'm quite new to Eclipse development so please forgive me for any big mistake and please be detailed in your answers Embarrassed .
I've started an open source project to provide some editors for BDD tools (Cucumber and JBehave) and I'm successfully using Xtext to create the editors.

I wanted to add the capability to link a step definition (a grammar element in both editors) to Java methods: let me explain what I mean.

If I encounter (in my bdd editor) something like Given the user does something I want to hyperlink it to any Java method annotated with Given, When, Then, And or But and an annotation value that represents a regular expression matching with the string "the user does something" so those are all valid matches:

• @Given("the user does .*")
  • @But("user do.*")
  • @Then("^the user .*$")

The following is the code I'm using:
for (final String annotationName : annotationNames) {
			SearchPattern pattern = SearchPattern.createPattern(annotationName, IJavaSearchConstants.ANNOTATION_TYPE,
					IJavaSearchConstants.ANNOTATION_TYPE_REFERENCE, SearchPattern.R_EXACT_MATCH | SearchPattern.R_CASE_SENSITIVE);
			SearchRequestor requestor = new SearchRequestor() {
				public void acceptSearchMatch(SearchMatch match) throws CoreException {
					if (match.getElement() instanceof IMethod) {
						IMethod method = (IMethod) match.getElement();
						// verify pattern
						IAnnotation type = method.getAnnotation(annotationName);
						String annotationValue = (String) type.getMemberValuePairs()[0].getValue();
						if (step.matches(annotationValue)) {