Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » Gemini » Where and When does the Driver get instantiated?(When using Gemini JPA and Gemini DBAccess, where does driver get instantiated)
Where and When does the Driver get instantiated? [message #834434] Mon, 02 April 2012 00:12 Go to next message
John Steele is currently offline John SteeleFriend
I'm fairly new to using a persistence provider (e.g., EclipseLink, Hibernate) within OSGi, and I'm trying to understand how the EntityManagerFactory gets tied to a specific driver (e.g., EmbeddedDriver), or does it at all?

Lets say I'm using Gemini JPA and Gemini DBAccess, and I have a persistence bundle with a META-INF/persitence.xml file, which specifies the driver as org.apache.derby.jdbc.EmbeddedDriver.

My understanding is that the Gemini JPA bundle is a consumer of the DataSourceFactory services provided by the Gemini DBAccess bundle. The Gemini JPA bundle will then use the javax.persistence.jdbc.driver property within the persistence.xml to decide which DataSourceFactory to use.

Assuming that the Gemini JPA bundle finds the EmbeddedDataSourceFactory, how does it then go about making the actual connection to the database?

It seems like the driver name is only used for locating the correct DataSourceFactory, but is the actual driver ever used? It's a stupid question, because I'm sure it's used to do the actual connecting to the database, but I'm not finding where this happens in the Gemini JPA source. I'm assuming it occurs within GeminiUtil, PUnitInfo, and the specific OSGiJpaProvider.

Where does the driver get instantiated, and how does the specific DataSourceFactory use it?

I appreciate the feedback.

=============
UPDATE
=============